This website will be progressively updated as the final outcome of the election of 2 July is known, and as the 45th Parliament meets.


Parliament NOW

Parliament NOW [PDF 1.1Mb, 10 pages]

The Australian Parliament is made up of 226 parliamentarians – 150 members in the House of Representatives and 76 senators in the Senate.

The Australian Government is formed by the party or coalition of parties with the support of the majority (more than half) of the 150 members elected to the House of Representatives. Following the double dissolution election held on 2 July, the Coalition (the Liberal Party of Australia and The Nationals joined together) have formed government after winning the majority of seats in the House.

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP was sworn-in as the 29th Prime Minister of Australia at a ceremony at Government House on 19 July. During the ceremony, the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Hon Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), also swore-in members of the new ministry.

The 45th Parliament will commence on 30 August with an opening ceremony at Parliament House.

Composition of the House of Representatives and Senate chambers

Left: Composition of the House of Representatives. Right: Composition of the Senate

Back to top

Previous page: Learning

Next page: Latest news