The Parliament

The Australian Coat of Arms

Image of The Australian Coat of Arms

Catalogue no:

Source/Credit line: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet


The blazon or official description of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms is contained in the Royal Warrant. The blazon describes a coat of arms in heraldic terms, enabling accurate reproduction in any part of the world.

Symbols of Australia's six states appear together on the shield, which is the central feature of a coat of arms. The border of the shield symbolises federation.

The kangaroo and emu are the native animals that hold the shield with pride. Some say the kangaroo and emu were chosen to symbolise a nation moving forward. This is based on the common belief that neither animal can move backwards easily.

A gold Commonwealth Star sits above the shield. Six of the star's points represent the Australian states. The seventh point represents the territories. A wreath of gold and blue sits under the Commonwealth Star. Gold and blue are the Commonwealth Coat of Arms' livery or identifying colours.

Australia's floral emblem, the golden wattle, frames the shield and supporters. A scroll contains the word 'Australia'.